Wednesday, April 06, 2005

Saul Bellow Dies at 89

“The backbone of 20th-century American literature has been provided by two novelists — William Faulkner and Saul Bellow. Together they are the Melville, Hawthorne, and Twain of the 20th century.”
Philip Roth, Author

I was saddened to hear that Saul Bellow, Nobel laureate, author of “Herzog,” “Humboldt’s Gift” and other novels died Tuesday. He was 89.

He was the first writer to win the National Book Award three times: in 1954 for “The Adventures of Augie March,” in 1965 for “Herzog” and in 1971 for “Mr. Sammler’s Planet.” In 1976, he won the Pulitzer Prize for “Humboldt’s Gift.” That same year Bellow was awarded the Nobel Prize in literature, cited for his “human understanding and subtle analysis of contemporary culture.” In 2003, the Library of America paid the rare tribute of releasing work by a living writer, issuing a volume of Bellow’s early novels.


On The Mark said...

Many have imitated him (or tired to). Humboldt's Gift is definitely in my top 5, if not the best book I've ever read. I have nearly all of his books (first editions).

Chandira said...

I'm ashamed to say I've never read any of his stuff.
I will. Robert was sad, he loved his stuff. That's good enough for me, as Robert's not an avid reader.