Andy Roddick lost yesterday, but he really won. The top-ranked player in the Rome Masters tennis tournament had the chance to let a bad call finish off a victory for him, leading to a quarterfinal match with Andre Agassi. His opponent's second serve looked good, but the umpire called it long. Roddick, looking at the ball mark at his feet, which showed that the ball actually was in, had the choice to keep his mouth shut, certainly he's lost calls along the way. Instead, he corrected the umpire, told him his opponent's serve was actually good, and his opponent got the point. Roddick then went on to lose the match, and tens of thousands of dollars (if not more).
In today's world of rampant dishonesty and deceit -- a world where money is king -- I find it so incredibly refreshing to see this display of honesty. If his integrity hits home with even a few kids (and especially some adults), then it's already a grand slam.
Thank you, Andy. You have a new fan.